School Council

All government schools in Victoria have a School Council. They are legally constituted bodies that are given powers to set the key directions of a school within statewide guidelines. In doing this, a School Council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.

The College Council at Horsham College is made up of four categories of membership as designated by the Department of Education and Training:

  • A mandated elected Parent category – more than one third of the total members must be from this category. Department of Education and Training (DET) employees can be parent members at their child’s school as long as they are engaged in work at the school.
  • A mandated elected DET employee category – members of this category may make up no more than one-third of the total membership of School Council. The Principal of the school is automatically one of these members.
  • A mandated elected Student category (2 positions) – members of this category are enrolled at the school and in Year 7 or above
  • Optional Community member category – members are co-opted by a decision of the School Council because of their special skills, interests or experiences. DET employees are not eligible to be community members.

Generally, the term of office for members is two years. The term of office of half of the members expires each year, creating vacancies for the annual School Council Elections.

Parents on school councils provide important viewpoints and have valuable skills that can help shape the direction of the school. Parents are also welcome to contact the College to discuss being involved in one of the sub committees of the College Council.

The College Sub Committees are:

  • Finance
  • Accountability and Improvement
  • Grounds and Facilities
  • Alternate Programs Advisory  Committee

Current Horsham College Council members are:

Parent Members (8)

Brett Thompson Sharyn Meyer
Luke Wearn Heath Watson
Jo Gellatly Nadine Hoffmann
Liz Luy Narelle Risson

School Employee Members (3)

Shannon Argall Susan McKenry
Ronnie Couch

Co-opted Community Members (4)

Anthony Schache Yolande Grosser
Ann Howell Shaun Casey

Student Members (2)

William (Will) Schache Mikayla Seymour

Personnel Supporting School Council

Melissa Trudel Minute Secretary
Liam Offer Assistant Principal
Louise Amor Assistant Principal
Melissa Twaddell Assistant Principal

Further information regarding School Council is available from Meg Woolford, Acting Principal.